Settlements understood to resolve outstanding claims from 2010 Deepwater Horizon disaster that spewed 134m gallons of oil into the sea

All five Gulf of Mexico states have reached a settlement with the owner of the offshore drilling rig involved in the 2010 BP oil spill.

A court filing from Transocean and attorneys for Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, Louisiana and Texas said all of the states had entered a settlement agreement. Alabama’s governor announced that state’s settlement with Transocean last week.

Continue reading…
Source: Guardian Environment